
Trustee must post notice of 

foreclosure in a conspicuous 

place on property and satisfy the 

Affidavit of Posting and the Proof 

of Publication.  

199 Days 203 Days 210 Days 220 Days 240 Days 

Montana Non-Judicial 

  Foreclosure Timeline 

Days in Default 

8th Missed Payment 

1st Missed Payment 

Servicer must 

send early inter-

vention notice 

and comply with 

continuity of   

contact.  

Servicer must 

comply with 

early      

intervention 

requirements. 

2nd and 3rd Missed Payments 

Trustee issues a Notice of Trustee’s Sale 

which must be sent via certified mail at 

least 120 days prior to the foreclosure sale 

date.   

Servicer must promptly  review 

any loss mitigation application 

received more than 45 days    

before a foreclosure sale.   

7th Missed Payment 

Trustee must 
publish notice 

of trustee’s sale 
in newspaper 

once a week for 
3 weeks. 

Foreclosure sale may    

occur. Borrower is not  

liable for any deficiency 

balance and has no right 

of redemption.  

Servicer must review any 

complete loss mitigation 

applications received 

more than 37 days be-

fore a foreclosure sale.   

Foreclosure Process Begins 

This process represents the most common foreclosure process in Montana. In most cases, the homeowner has the right to reinstate the loan until the day of the  

foreclosure sale by paying all back mortgage payments including fees and interest. Servicers have the right to refuse partial payments.  

30 Days    36 Days    45 Days     60 Days   90 Days 

4th Missed Payment 5th Missed Payment 6th Missed Payment 

120 Days      150 Days   180 Days     195 Days 

Servicer must 

send early inter-

vention notice 

and comply with 

continuity of   

contact.  

Servicer must 

comply with 

early      

intervention 

requirements. 

Missed 

Payment 

Notice 

Servicer makes 
collection calls 

Foreclosure Sale 

Key 

Federal Law 

State Law 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0150/0710-0010-0030-0150.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0150/0710-0010-0030-0150.html
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/40/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/40/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0150/0710-0010-0030-0150.html
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/41/
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0150/0710-0010-0030-0150.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0150/0710-0010-0030-0150.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0170/0710-0010-0030-0170.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0170/0710-0010-0030-0170.html
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/41/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/40/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/40/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://www.consumerfinance.gov/policy-compliance/rulemaking/regulations/1024/39/
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0710/chapter_0010/part_0030/section_0150/0710-0010-0030-0150.html

